The Obscure Fringe of Edinburgh, aye.

Inspired by my research as part of my Media Arts degree I made my trip to Edinbrugh to visit the Camera Obscura. A few of the photos below allude to its mysteries and this alone made the trip worthwhile. The Fringe festival was in full swing, showing Edinburgh to be a true cultural city full of vibrancy and many other momentous attractions. While visiting the filming locations used by Danny Boyle in Trainspotting, I seized the opportunity with my Dad to recreate one of the iconic scenes, the run down Princess Street to the arch near Edinburgh Waverley Station. Although not faithfully recreated I think it captures the essence of Danny Boyle’s intention of choosing life.

Arthur’s Seat proved challenging to visit but a lesser viewpoint gave an opportunity to record a timelapse of the city scape.

No trip to Edinburgh would be complete without a visit to the castle. Duly done I moved on to discover that Edinburgh much like many other cities is full of highlights hidden within the side streets. The Huawaii P10 proved invaluable in capturing these moments both in film and photography. This trip was about opportunities to create media, so much so I extended it to include a trip to Bristol’s Camera Obscura which was less of a tourist attraction and faithful to it’s concept.

The contrast between Exeter and Edinburgh airports indicated my trip would be worthwhile, and that it was. The Scottish taxi driver awaited my arrival displaying my name and as I passed the long queue at the taxi rank, I felt both confident and optimistic. Indeed it was a cultural trip and it gave rise to the creation of what I think is some good Media.

Leave a comment